More on Short People

Well. I hadn’t planned on reprinting news articles on this blog, but I ran across something today that is SO relevant I just can’t not. Courtesy of Associated Press:

BC-AS–Nepal-Shortest Man, 2nd Ld-Writethru,0211
Nepal’s shortest man in quest for world record
Eds: Minor edits.
AP Photo DEL115
KATMANDU, Nepal (AP) — A man who is only 22 inches (56 centimeters) tall left his home country of Nepal in a quest to be recognized as the world’s shortest man.
Khagendra Thapa Magar departed Sunday for Europe to campaign for the Guinness World Record title. He applied to London-based group for a place in the record book in October, soon after turning 18, but said he has not received any response.
Magar’s family initially filed a claim when he was 14, but it was rejected because he was not an adult and there was a chance he might grow.
They say doctors in Nepal have not been able to explain why Magar is so small.
“We are going to Italy to try to record his name in the Guinness Book of World Records,” his father, Rup Bahadur Thapa Magar, told reporters in Katmandu. They plan to appear on an Italian television show to talk about his bid for the title.
Once in Italy, Magar, his father and a supporter will decide on their next destination.
His supporters saw him off from the Nepalese capital on Sunday, offering flower bouquets and garlands.
The current record is held by He Pingping of China, who is 29 inches (73 centimeters) tall.
AP-ES-02-21-10 1954EST

One response to “More on Short People

  1. I hate being short!!! Yep. I said it. I hate being short. It sucks. I hate that it has come to define who I am. I hate that that is the first thing people see when they see me.
    It sucks even more when you are short…

    You can’t find clothes that fit decently.
    You can’t reach things at stores. (or anywhere else for that matter)
    Chairs can be a bit uncomfortable when your feet NEVER touch the ground.
    It can be hard to find a car that you can actually ‘see out of’ to drive.
    Climbing on washers to get your laundry out is never fun.
    People feel that they have the right to ask you how tall you are…and then of course the ever so popular ‘How old are you?’ soon follows.

    I am to the point in my life where I can just TELL when someone is ‘sizing me up’, trying to figure out how tall or how old I am. I can see it on their faces. (Nothing like being obvious, people!) At least this gives me a warning, so I can leave the area quickly, before the stupidity actually goes from being just a thought to an actual verbal question. For that, I am grateful.

    If this all weren’t bad enough, there is one more thing I have noticed. People don’t actually think you are a real person when you are my height. There have been a few circumstances in my life that have led me to believe that.

Leave a Reply

