Andrew Lincoln Dishes on Musical Theater. And Zombies.

Andrew Lincoln, November 2,2013, at Walker Stalkers Convention

Andrew Lincoln, November 2,2013, at Walker Stalkers Convention

Actor Andrew Lincoln of AMC’s The Walking Dead doesn’t attend a lot of fan conventions. But he made an exception for The Walker Stalkers convention in Atlanta, Georgia, November 1-3, attending with many of the other stars of the show. On November 2 he spoke to about 1500 fans at the Westin Peachtree Plaza, in a discussion moderated by Walker Stalkers podcasters Eric Nordhoff and James Frazier.

Eric: Well, we have a special guest here in the building, (cheers, a call of “who is it?” from one person, followed by laughter) and that person is Emma Loggins from Fanbolt.com. (cheers)
Emma: Thank you. Um, all right. So the way this is going to work, we only have five fan questions that are gonna be asked. There are two mics –
Eric: We’ll probably take more than that.
Emma: We can?
Eric: Oh, yeah. It’s per Andrew’s request.
Emma: Awesome. (cheers, applause) So there are two mics lined up with volunteers next to them, so if you would like to ask Andrew a question, please get in line.
Eric: Now is the time to line up.
James: Run . . .
Eric: Don’t run. No running, but now is the time because this is mainly for you guys. We’re not going to be asking a lot of questions.
Emma: And without further ado, Andrew Lincoln!

Andrew Lincoln speaks to a packed ballroom at Walker Stalkers convention November 2, 2013.

Andrew Lincoln speaks to a packed ballroom at Walker Stalkers convention November 2, 2013.

(Cheers, screams. Lincoln strides onstage, peers at some 1500 audience members, and settles into the couch.)
Lincoln: Ooooohhhhh, there’s a lot of you. (cheers) Hey guys. This is exciting, isn’t it? (cheers)
Eric: Are you comfortable on the couch?
Lincoln: A little too comfortable, actually. Lemme sit up here. There. Is Greg Nicotero here?
Eric: he was.
Lincoln: What? He stood me up?
Eric: You didn’t get to see him earlier? He was trying to see you.
Lincoln: He came and kissed me earlier, yeah. (hoots from audience)
James: Thank you for coming to Walker Stalkers Con.
Lincoln: Oh man, it’s a pleasure, guys. (to audience) Are you having fun? (cheers) I’m in my second hometown, Atlanta. I love it here. (more cheers)
Eric: James and I have been reading for a while, you did an interview and you said, you know what, you said in this interview I need to do something for the fans in Atlanta. And we were talking to your publicist, probably when we first announced we were going to do a convention, and we kind of reminded her, hey, he said this, Andrew said this, and finally we get the chance to do that and really make it work. So we’re just honored to have you here.
Lincoln: Oh, it’s such a pleasure, guys. And I’m sorry it’s been a long time coming. This should be a regular thing, I think. (cheers)
James: Any questions?
Q: Can you hear me?
Lincoln: Barely. Hey.
Q: (hoarse) I sound like an eighty-year-old barmaid. (laughter) I’ve been yelling at Norman, you know, just screaming.
Lincoln: That happens, yeah. (laughter) It takes me sort of half an hour to start work in the morning because I just scream. (laughter)
Q: All right, so we are all familiar with the complicated character that is Rick Grimes, and what a phenomenal job you do playing him.
Lincoln: Well, thank you.
Q: BUT. Those of us who are familiar with your earlier work know that you had a knack for comedy and dancing. (laughter, whoops, applause)
Lincoln: What are you saying: Musical time? Rick Grimes sings? (laughter) Sings and dances? Naked? (laughter, cheers) Bring it on Scott Gimple. Bring it on.

lincoln7

Eric: We need more security.
Lincoln: Dave Morrissey has got a very good voice as well, so maybe Rick and the Governor could have a little G-rap, at some point? (cheers)
Eric: they actually did that duet, didn’t they? It was called Broadway.
Lincoln: Yeah, I heard about that, yeah. So sorry, what is the question?
Q: The question is this: would you ever be interested in hosting Saturday Night Live, and if so, what type of skit would you enjoy doing?
Lincoln: You know, you’re not the first person to sort of ask me that question. And it does fill me with absolute horror. (light laughter) Yeah, I mean, I began on stage. That was my first ever role was the Artful Dodger in Oliver Twist, and I was hooked ever since. So look, I wouldn’t rule it out, but it would have to be something along the lines of, maybe Colin Firth has done some great sketches on there. Hilarious sketches. But you know, you’re never going to fill the boots of Christopher Walken. (laughter) I mean, how good is THAT guy? But um, never say never, is my sort of political answer.
Q: You would nail it, you know you would.
Lincoln: Oh, I’m terrified already.

Leave a comment